Help regarding JVC GY HD101

17 replies [Last post]
Alestorm
Hi everyone
Long time lurker here (even if most of it goes over my head!)

The issue that prompted me to post is regarding my JVC GY HD101. I've had this camera a year or so and the firewire output has never worked in the time I've owned it. (despite the previous owner assuring me it worked last time he tried it) It's only been mildly annoying so far as I've only needed to shoot in the SD mode and used a cheap camera to capture to Avid. However I obviously want to use the camera as God intended in 720 HD mode so I can horse around with some short film, and without a working firewire I need some way to capture footage. Now there are options, the best clearly being investing in some form of tape deck compatible with the shooting format of 720 HD. But this is very pricey / difficult to obtain and being that I'm not a professional videographer isn't really option unless it a lot cheaper than the four figure prices I've found. The next avenue I tried was having the board replaced to restore firewire functionality which I gather is actually a relitively straight forward operation. The repair outfits JVC put me in touch with either didn't seem too interested or quoted prices more than the camera is worth, and whilst I am of course prepared to spend to get the problem fixed it's clearly pointless paying more than the going rate for a second hand camera. So, I've been trying to come up with a work around, and my list is short and quite predictable

1. Purchase a cheaper HDV 720 camera - Problem being JVC didn't do any consumer 720 HDV cameras. In fact, I'm not sure if anyone does. And even if they did there is the cross brand compatibility issue. I'm simply not savvy enough to know what if anything (I suspect the if anything option) is available that would be compatible with the JVC's HDV footage