iMac DV SE (500Mhz)

13 replies [Last post]
BabelDV

I am thinking of buying the above Mac for DV Editing. Is this a ggod enough system? I am totally new to DV Editing, and haven't even got a DV camcorder yet.

Also, is the iMac suitable for watching DVD's on; as this will be what it is also used for?

s.hood

iMac DV SE is a capable little number for sure. Get yourself a little DV camcorder that has DV in & out, and you are all set. iMac SE has DVD playback on the screen but no way of showing that on a TV.

------------------
regards
Steve

[ O U T L A W : S D G ]

regards
Steven Hood

Motion Forge

iMike

You can buy an adaptor for showing DVD on a TV - I think Eskape Labs do one.

BabelDV

Thank you s.hood & iMike for your replies.

I am now just waiting on Apple to send me the latest iMac brochures, before I finally decide.

bcrabtree

Brochures!

Er, why not look at the most up-to-date info - on the web?

Or am I missing something?

Bob C

BabelDV

No, bcrabtee. You are not missing anything. It's just that I like the feel of a physical brochure. Takes all sorts, doesn't it?

Tom

I use an ordinary iMac DV for video editing and it's excellent – iMovie 2 is a huge improvement on its predecessor. We also run Final Cut Pro on it, with extra memory, but it's not an ideal solution – the programme needs more screen space.

I've only watched one DVD on my iMac, and screen quality is not very good.

Tom Barrance
Media Education Wales

BabelDV

Thank you Tom for your reply.

I would probably look to get a bigger monitor for DVD-viewing.

bcrabtree

Er, how the hell do you get a bigger monitor on an iMac or (and you know what's coming next, don't you?) am I missing something?

;)

Bob C

iMike

You can plug an extra monitor directly into the iMac - for video mirroring only - as big as you can afford.

bcrabtree

Has this been the case since Day 1 or is it something that arrived with newer iMacs?

Bob C

dacquinh

quote:Originally posted by bcrabtree: